Thermometers

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

woodjack

Minister of Fire
Jan 10, 2008
Woodstock, NY
This is my first year burning so I'm still on a steep learning curve and trying to be a good student. As suggested by some of you Pyro Extroadinaires I stuck my thermometer on the front of my wood stove (an old TempWood top loader). My chimney sweep came the other day and the first thing he did was take it off and stuck it on my flue pipe about 18 inches above the top plate. I hear some guys in this forum quoting temperatures of 650-750 degrees - can't be on the flue, right?. What, where, how much thermometer?

If your stack is 650-750 that is too hot.
I am in agreeance with your sweep, the pipe is the place for the thermometer.
Some instalations and all inserts cannot use the pipe however.

Mr. Chimney sweep said to keep it 200 - 500 degrees on the stack. From what I've read in this forum 200 sounds like it would break the wood burners Bill of Rights. Mr. Chimney sweep is a 25 year old kid, not to say that he's not an expert, but I trust the seasoned wood on this forum more. I'm just looking to get it right.

You want a minimum of 230 on the stove pipe so the gasses are above the boiling point of water so it doesn't condense on the pipe and turn into creosote.

woodjack said: