1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Thermostat for Quadrafire Classic Bay 1200 Pellet Insert

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by mikeshapp, Jan 9, 2011.

  1. mikeshapp

    mikeshapp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    MA/NH border
    I've got a Quadrafire Classic Bay 1200 Pellet Insert, I'm using the manual thermostat that came with it, and I'd like to replace it with a programmable thermostat. The specs say the CB uses 12v AC for the thermostat but I can't seem to find any thermostats that work on 12v AC (other than the one from Quadrafire which I don't like). Does anyome know if there are any other thermostats that will work (e.g. Honeywell, LUX, etc.).

    Thanks,

    Mike

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. cncpro

    cncpro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Loc:
    NE Connecticut, USA
    Pretty sure you can buy any one you like at your local home center and it will work fine.

    I have a Honeywell and many people have the Lux. There are more connections than you need on these thermostats since they are equipped to run AC systems and more complicated heating units but once you read the manual to see which connections apply to you everything will be fine.
  3. Glosta

    Glosta Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    155
    Loc:
    North of Boston
    Mike - First Things First. Welcome Aboard!!!

    I have the LUX1500e thermostat for my quad 1200i and I couldn’t be happier.

    Great thermostat with plenty of programability. Best feature about the LUX1500e is the +/- 9 degree swing feature. This is a useful function that allows you to set-up a range within which the thermostat responds to changes in temperature. So, for example, if the thermostat is set to 80 degrees and the swing is set to plus/minus 1 degree it means that your pellet stove won’t cycle until the room temperature falls to 79 degrees and will shut off at 81 degrees. 80 Degrees with TWO degree swing = stove will turn on at 78 degrees and cycle off at 82 degrees. The LUX1500e also dispalys room humidity which is pretty cool.

    $39.97 from Amazon with free shipping. Arrived 3 days after order date via standard shipping.

    http://www.amazon.com/Lux-Products-...ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=hi&qid=1290113941&sr=8-1
  4. mikeshapp

    mikeshapp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    MA/NH border
    Thanks for the replies. I picked up a Lux TX1500E-010 Thermostat and it works just fine.
  5. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,649
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Yea, the fact that Quad's literature called for a 12V thermostat had me stymied for quite a while too. I don't know what they were thinking. All it needs is a contact closure. I went with the RiteTemp from Home Depot for $25 at the time and am on the second season with no problems.
  6. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,460
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    The manual states 12 v, the Lux they send with the stove is 24 v.
  7. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,099
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    A lot of the voltage ratings have more to do with what will fry the contacts on the stat than what is actually needed.

    You definitely wouldn't want to hook that stat into a higher voltage system than the contacts are rated for. Going the other way is fine.
  8. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    For example, if you got a stat rated for 6v (does anything less than 12v even exist), it might fry out the components inside when the 12v from the stove is run through it.

    Generally speaking, any stat that runs off its own battery supply will work on the Quad stoves.
  9. turbotech

    turbotech Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Loc:
    NE
    The Lux TX1500E-010 works because it has batteries to power the Tstat itself and the heating device part is just an on/off switch. If the "C" wire was used then there is a problem. A lot of Tstats use the incoming voltage from the heating device to power the Tstat itself. If it does this and requires 24vac then it won't work right. In some cases it may work with the lower voltage but only the manufacturer can tell you that.
    Most of the time if the Tstat has internal batteries then the heating/cooling lines are just an on/off switch which is what you want.
  10. densarc

    densarc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    RI
  11. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa


    After reading the reviews I wouldn't put that one on, but if you insist RH and W.
  12. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    If you put a volt meter on the thermostat contacts you'll see 24 volts.
  13. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    I think all of the Lux thermostats have a 2.25 degreed swing with each step being .25 degrees. A setting of 4 would be one degree.
  14. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,649
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Which is why I question that they call for a 12 volt thermostat. As far as I could find, there is no such thing! A millivolt thermostat works just as well.
  15. DBCOOPER

    DBCOOPER Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Loc:
    Stowe, Pa
    Millivolt thermostats are used in systems in which the power is provided by a thermocouple, heated by the pilot light. I know my Quad does not work that way.I would not recommend a millivolt only thermostat for use with a pellet stove.
  16. ekarlis

    ekarlis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Loc:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    DB is right about the thermocouple. All current digital thermostats handle 24 volts
    R = plus side of transformer, RH= power for heat, RC= Power for cooling,
    G=Fan, Y=Cooling or Heat Pump, W= Heat. The RH & RC terminals usually have
    jumper between them. For a pellet stove, all you need is two wires connected to
    R or RH & W. Most thermostats have a C= Common. Hope this helps

Share This Page