1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Thermostat question

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by CygnusX1, Sep 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CygnusX1

    CygnusX1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Loc:
    Central MA
    I was thinking of putting a thermostat on my Enviro Meridian, but I've heard that a thermostat tends to burn out the igniter quickly. Is this true?
    Is it worth putting a thermostat on a stove? I run mine on medium heat during the day and ramp it up when I'm home.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. ajwoodman

    ajwoodman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Loc:
    Me
    There are two ways to run the stove on thermostat mode. It is true if you run it on off/on mode but if you run it on hi/lo it never shuts down, only goes from a high to a low setting. This should not burn out your igniter rod. I have mine set on hi/lo and on a programmable thermostat. Works good so far, have it on right now cause it we had a frost last night.
  3. wb2bhc

    wb2bhc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Loc:
    Northern NJ
    I agree..I have an enviro empress and spoke to enviro tech support yesterday asking the same question.
    His advise was the same ..Use the HI/Lo setting and it will preserve your ignitor
    Ran my stove for the first time overnight, looks like a warm and toasty winter for us.

    Jay

    Attached Files:

  4. wellsme

    wellsme Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    Nice setup Jay! When I first saw the photo I wondered how you vented your unit until I
    realized the wall was a mirror. Quite the illusion.
    Brian
  5. CygnusX1

    CygnusX1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Thanks for the advice.

    One more question, what brand of thermostat do you use? What's better, what's best?
  6. wb2bhc

    wb2bhc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Loc:
    Northern NJ
    I got the cheapest thermostat that I could at HD I think it was 10 bucks or so. The Hi/Lo setting takes care of the
    stove running at the preset high of idle setting.
    Seems to work swell..
    Jay
  7. AAsTeapots

    AAsTeapots New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    I found that using a thermostat we burned more pellets. It was better for us to just let it run on low. We used less pellets this way.
  8. woodsman23

    woodsman23 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Loc:
    western southern tier of NYS
    Use a programmable one i got one for around 30 bucks, then you can preset different temps throughout the day 7 days a week. Ritetemp makes some nice ones
    www.ritetemp.com
  9. wb2bhc

    wb2bhc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Loc:
    Northern NJ
    Not being an expert in the "pellet world" I thought I would try cheap first. The stove
    throttles back to the idle setting once the desired temperature range is acquired.
    It seems that a warmed house tends to stay that way and just needs an occasional
    nudge to reattain the needed setting. But I guess that time and snowflakes will
    either prove me wrong or right.
    Have a warm and cozy winter all
    Jay\

    BTW this site and the boards have given me more information than
    I ever thought there was anywhere.. HooRah
  10. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,365
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    I agree with this answer, it's what I did. If you want it warmer, turn it up, if it's too cold, turn it down. The whole programmable thing doesn't work for me, maybe I'm just too stupid, or maybe I don't know how hot I want it to be next Tuesday at 3:17 a.m.
  11. woodsman23

    woodsman23 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Loc:
    western southern tier of NYS
    The idea of a programmable thermostat is when no one is home why heat at 70 when you can heat at 60 and have the stove come on an hour or so before you get home. You can set times and if you want different heat then you simply put the thermostat on hold and you can adjust to any temp you want.
  12. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,365
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    Well, now I understand. You're from New York. I ain't.
  13. thekid_1

    thekid_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    More like you are a HERMIT.
  14. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,365
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    Ayuh
  15. woodsman23

    woodsman23 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Loc:
    western southern tier of NYS
    You have a problem with new york???
  16. thekid_1

    thekid_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    Just because "ayuh," "ain't," and dropping the "g" from "ing" may be common in New England does not make it proper grammar.
  17. rap69ri

    rap69ri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Loc:
    Middle of RI
    If ain't is in the dictionary does that not make it proper???
  18. thekid_1

    thekid_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
    A dictionary is a book offering definitions, pronunciations, origin, etc.

    Just because a word is in a dictionary not make it proper grammar.
  19. rap69ri

    rap69ri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Loc:
    Middle of RI
    Way of topic, but...

    I can't say that I use the word ain't extensively, but when amongst friends it seems proper enough. Most people on this site seem friendly enough that I can forget to dot an I or cross a T now and again.
  20. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,610
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Let's for get semantics and get back on topic.

    Igniter styles vary from stove to stove. It seems to me that the encapsulated ones fail sooner than the heating element style (like a BBQ lighter). We ran the Quad 1200i for 5 years on a programmable thermostat and never had an igniter issue. It was still in good shape when I sold the stove. But I have heard of the encapsulated style failing in a few years. What does the Enviro use?
  21. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Just posted this unit in another thread, but could help someone here too. I bought this for my stove, and it's fairly inexpensive ($20-22 online), and easy to hook-up and program.

    Lux PSP511LA

    Attached Files:

  22. caseyclan

    caseyclan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Loc:
    Missouri
    Be green - which model of programmable thermostat did you use? Was it 12v or 24v? I want to add one for my 1200i, but cannot find a 12v model anywhere. Just curious as to what you used. Thanks
  23. thekid_1

    thekid_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Loc:
    Upstate NY
  24. yoscratch

    yoscratch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    western New York
    I too believe in the set back thermostat way of thinking. Maybe its a WNY thing.

    I have a st croix prescott and have gone through an ignitor each season and a half. yes this costs me $100 each time. i need to find a cheaper source for them. I still think it saves enough pellets to justify it.
  25. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,610
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    I would recommend the Lux TX500. Don't worry about the 12v requirement, the thermostat is battery operated and you will be only using the heat section of the thermostat (R and W connections).
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page