Thimble or Wall pass through? - or what I have there now?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been burning my Quad insert for primary heat for 3 years now. Everything is good there.
This year I'm connecting a free standing Hearthstone Shelburne through a combustible wall and into a masonry chimney. I need a little help here, as this is a new type of connection for me.
The existing installation, which was burned for years by the previous owners goes like this:
Stove - some kind of connector pipe (they took it with them) - then at the combustible wall is a 12" piece of Metalbestos double wall pipe that goes through the wall, through the masonry block of the chimney and into the terracotta tiles. The chimney is about 30' high. There is a "pie-plate" that attaches to the drywall on the combustible wall around the Metalbestos pipe.

I would like to run rigid pipe down the length of the chimney - to a tee - and then I need the help...
does the tee feed a thimble - a wall pass through - or is the piece of double wall that's there meet standards?
Any pics or links would also be greatly appreciated - -thanks.

OK - I'm still really confused by the options here. Please help clarify.

I've looked at the "combustible wall pass through" in the link above, and can't seem to wrap my head around the connections.