Thinking of buying a new saw, worried about safety

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CTburning

Nov 9, 2008
Western CT
Hello, I am a novice with a chain saw but learning quickly. I purchased a Poulan 42cc with a 18'' bar. It was one of those day after thanksgiving specials with a case and sharpner for $99.95 deals but looks just like the Poulan Wild Thing. I love the saw. My neighboor is amazed at how fast it will rip through green Red Oak. The problem is I have to keep the blade super sharp for it to cut at all. I immediately purchased a Home Depot replacement chain because the one that came with the saw went dull within 30 seconds of meeting Red Oak. I am assuming it is safety chain as it is just a made in China Home Depot run of the mill chain. The problem is I can only make 2 or 3 cuts in 20"+ Red Oak before the chain becomes dull and you can feel it stop cutting. The wood is not dirty and I am not hitting the ground with the chain. The trees are just dense and dulling the blade. So finally I am getting to the question. I can not make this saw kick back no matter what stupid stuff I do with the blade. I am afraid that a 290 Farm Boss or 455 Rancher will not be nearly as forgiving. I am assuming that more power and bigger teeth= more kickback. My questions are am I right is assuming that a bigger saw with a chiesel tooth blade be more likely to kick back than my smaller saw? I'm assuming that is what safety chain is, anti-kickback, right? It is not a matter of strength. I hate using my Milwaukee Skill saw because it kicked back on me one time. No injury but I guess