Thinking of getting Vermont Castings Winter Warm...help!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jtrester1968

Dec 19, 2007
Cincinnati, OH
I'm a newbie here. I have a fireplace that I need to measure to see which size I need to get -- large or small. I'm not sure how to properly measure it. The fireplace is an outward curve with a concrete mantle. The firebox comes out 15 inches with brick at an angle. Then there is a cement mantle topped with an asbestos metal plate. How far should I measure from the back wall of the fireplace to the front?

Attachments

• fireplace.jpg
    fireplace.jpg
    159.9 KB · Views: 387
Depending on the fireplace dimensions, installing a freestanding stove and extending the hearth might be a nice option here.

BeGreen said:
Depending on the fireplace dimensions, installing a freestanding stove and extending the hearth might be a nice option here.

Agreed,

Step 1: Get sledge hammer

Step 2: Use sledge hammer

Step 3: Get a stove, not an insert..... your family will luv ya!!

Welcome aboard!