This my chit (Chain sharpener CS-BWM)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I

ISeeDeadBTUs

As usual, I waited to fall to get wood. And since it had beena very mild fall, I waited till November.

SOS, the 440 was cutting to the right. For a 12" round it would cut so much to the right that it would bind. I sharpen freehand, but I'm not very good at it. But first, I tried an experiment. Having read the flaming thread about flipping bars, I first flipped the bar over and tried again. This made no change in the way the saw cut.

Next I bought a Timber Tuff CS-BWM from Tractor Supply. Assuming that this electric chain sharpener would work, the $129 price made sense in my circumstances. I have two Stihl chains which I purchaed at the same time as the saw (3-4 years ago). I also have 6 Oregon chains. The guy who sold me that latter chains said my Stihl chain was not worth tryingg to save - he didn't want to sharpen it - so he offered me his 'special'. 5 chains for $75". My experiance has been that you need 5 Oregon chains be cause they seem to dull under the SLIGHTEST of occasions. I also founf that when the Oregons threw, the drive teeth would end up burred up. Anyway, not the point of this post . . .

So I brought the electric srarpener home and began to commence. The first thing I did was to sharpen the chain that had been cutting to the right. Back on the saw, no more cutting to the right. Bull chit (in this case ;-) ) on the whole bar routine.

Comments on the Timber Tuff CS-BWM: