This One Has Really Got Me Stumped

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fraxinus

Feeling the Heat
Aug 3, 2007
coastal Maine
I'm far from an expert on house wiring, but I've done enough repairs, additions, etc. over the years to feel reasonably comfortable and I think I am able to recognize when I'm totally out of my depth. Anyway...

A few days ago, a single outlet in one room stopped functioning. All other outlets on the same circuit were fine. Tested the inoperable one with one of those simple light flashing beeping type testers. This indicated that there was current, so the obvious, if kind of unlikely, answer seemed to be the outlet itself.

Shut off all current at the main breaker this morning and replaced the outlet. Turned the breaker back on. No current at the new outlet, and now no current at any of the upstairs outlets on this circuit - first floor ones were fine.

There is another outlet in another room which backs up directly to the one which started this all. Thought I'd check and see if a loose connection in that one could be the problem. As I was loosening the screws to check, power came back to the outlet and all the others. EXCEPT the one which started it all - maybe.

The tester shows current at the original non-functioning outlet but nothing plugged into it works. BUT, I plugged in a light on a cord, stretched out the cord perhaps 10 feet. Tester showed current at the light switch, but it would not come on. ????