timber tuff bench grinder help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

steeltowninwv

Minister of Fire
Nov 16, 2010
west virginia
ok from a previous post some guys have talked me into to trying this thing out

complete novice here..i have one and never used it...dont have a manual...any pointers?...what angles to set?.....ill be sharpening 3/8 chain 20 inches long full chissel....any help will be appreciated

Reactions: Nixon
30 60 10 on Stihl chain, works on any Full chisel chain. I have no clue on that grinder if the lower vise table adjusts or is preset though. Got a pic? A C

Found the TT site.
Which bench model?

CS_BMM
img3_cs-bmm.png

CS-BWM
img3_cs-bwm.png

I have the first one in Dave's post. It gets the job done, I'm pretty good with it, but it leaves me wanting something a little nicer. I might be able to get some video of it this summer when stuff slows down, if that's the one you have.

30* top plate angle, & 60* "tilt" will give a good result. Cut very lightly, & watch your depth on the straps or you risk overheating the chain. They say to use the 3/16 wheel with 3/8 chain, but I do mine with 1/8 inch & get sharper chains & cleaner gullets in the cutters. Go easy & you'll get good in no time. A C

Two passes just kissing it are better than one pass with solid pressure. That advice right there is what makes the difference for me in a sharp chain that lasts for more than a few cuts.

Reactions: Pallet Pete
ok so let me get this right......30 60 10