Timberline stove in my homestead

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MsBev

Oct 28, 2016
MD
Hello all. I'm new to the forum. Last year I bought a largish piece of property in the middle of nowhere and am gradually turning it into a self sufficient homestead. A month afterward I found a great deal on a Timberline stove on the local Craigslist for $150 and snapped it up. A year later I have it up and running in my cottage-under-construction. I am new to wood stoves, but researched installation, and between me and a good friend, it's cranking out the heat. Before burning wood in it, I checked it out thoroughly. It seems to have never burned a fire, though it had telltale signs of having been installed in a fireplace. It looks like it might be an insert? I'm using it free standing. If any one has tips or info on this stove, comments would be welcome!

The most important tip we can give here is to make sure it is installed safely. Old stoves like this need very large clearances - 36" on all sides and adequate hearth protection. The second tip is to burn only dry, fully seasoned wood.

Reactions: MsBev
The most important tip we can give here is to make sure it is installed safely. Old stoves like this need very large clearances - 36" on all sides and adequate hearth protection. The second tip is to burn only dry, fully seasoned wood.