Time For Another Round Of "Is It Safe?"

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PSFarms

Nov 28, 2016
Willits, CA
www.facebook.com
We're upgrading to a True North TN20 woodstove. In anticipation of the upgrade, we were donated a hearth. Since I'm a little new at this, could you folks take a look and see if you think its construction is safe? The bricks are 1/2 inch thick and the wood is 1 inch thick. Thanks for playing!! Time For Another Round Of "Is It Safe?"

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm very new to this (about 1 or two posts), but I did find this PDF regarding Fireplace/Chimney Code.

It calls for the following.

Hearth extensions shall be of masonry or concrete at least 2 inches (51 mm) thick and supported by noncombustible materials and reinforced to carry its own weight and all imposed loads.

So based on this it fails

You need to get the manual for the stove. IF I read it correctly it needs non combustible ember protection only so technically the tile surface qualifys. The hearth pad also needs to be of a size to meet all the requirements listed in the manual. If this is a free floating hearth that will sit on carpet I doubt the 1/2" particle board would support the weight without bowing.

Hearth extensions shall be of masonry or concrete at least 2 inches (51 mm) thick and supported by noncombustible materials and reinforced to carry its own weight and all imposed loads.