1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

time for change

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by wannago, Sep 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wannago

    wannago Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Midland, North Carolina
    Hey guys just joined your forum and I got a question for you all. I want to get rid of my pre fab fireplace and install a free standing wood stove so I can get all he heat I can get. I live in N.C. and the winters are sometime mild and some are not. My question is, is there a kit that would let me make a transition using my pre fab insert to a free standing stove? thanks......

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,110
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Midland, you'll find some other long threads here about the subject, but let me make a summary to make it easier....

    Two choices:

    1. Most economical - buy a fireplace insert that BOTH fits and is approved for use in pre-fab fireplace - line chimney to the top with new stainless liner and connect to stove.
    2. Other: Rip out ENTIRE assembly, firebox and chimney and replace with new metal chimney and stove or built-in high efficiency fireplace

    You cannot take just any old stove and place it in front or in and pipe up. It must be an insert approved for such use. This is because of two reasons -

    first: the chimney in many prefabs is not tested with anything other than the open fireplace and is not as heavy duty.
    second: there is wood in the walls a few inches from your fireplace and a stove in front - and it's pipe - will not meet the required clearances.
  3. wannago

    wannago Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Midland, North Carolina
    Thanks for the information, I think you are right. I beleive I will tear out what I got, and start over. Now finding the right stove. I had a Ember Hearth stove about 20 years ago, and at that time it was a good stove but by the looks of the stoves today ther are a lot of free standing stoves out there to choose fromm. Any sugestions????? thanks
  4. Homefire

    Homefire New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    275
    I believe I would go with a pellet stove in NC
    I grew up there and know it can be 25 at night and 75 by 9am
    Pellet stoves are now made to work off a wall t-stat
    you could even leave the old unit in place and get a pellet insert

    Plus with a pellet you may be able to burn corn and other things like cherry pits
    and grass pellets.

    Gastonia was my hometown from 1953- 1972 and again from 1979-1989
    I am thinking strongly about retiring there in a few more years.
  5. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,218
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    Lots of great stoves out there to choose from. Check out the stove ratings in the community section. Personally I would suggest Woodstock.
  6. Roospike

    Roospike New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,859
    Loc:
    Eastern Nebraska
    I agree with the weather in NC . I lived in Shelby from 1985 - 1989 and the weather was real mild except for one year that snow actually stayed on the ground for more than 24 hours .
  7. Dave_1

    Dave_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    302
    Hey guys, small world.

    We lived in Caldwell County N.C. from `72-`77. Our first house was a tri-level which took all our money to move into. The house was all electric & had a large den on the bottom floor with a fireplace. The tri level had an open 10’x 10’ stair well to the top floor. When the energy crunch hit I tried feeding that fireplace a couple weeks before realizing it was a mission truly impossible.

    So went to a muffler shop & had a guy bend 6 - 2” exhaust pipes, spaced 2” apart, into nearly a “U” to fit into my fireplace. There were 4 flat steel cross bars, 2 on the bottom, 1 on the back & top used as bracing to prevent racking. The 2 braces on the bottom had what might be called fire dog legs welded to them. Also had him; make up a 6” collector box & cut out 6 - 2” holes, to slide the tubes into at the bottom, & attached a 2’ extension to the left end of the collector box for the fresh air input.

    I then took a old 6” fan & attached it to the extension which pushed the air into the collector box. Total cost was $75, & it did the job. The only electricity used for heat from then on were the units in the bathrooms.

    On the way home from work twice a week I’d stop at a furniture maker, on 15th ave NW, & pick up scraps to put into several cardboard boxes in the station wagon.

    Dave
  8. skypager

    skypager New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Loc:
    Bucks County, PA
    I agree with this also. Once a wood stove is going its not stopping till its out of fuel.

    If you want to change the apperance of your fireplace many pellet inserts can also be used in a zero clearance set up. In other words, you can rip out the box and install the pellet insert into framing maintaining more of a clean fireplace look. Not every pellet stove can do this and there are clearances and insulation factors to follow. One brand I know of that can be used as such is Envirofire. I know Breckwell could do it back in the day, not sure if they still list them as such now though.

    On the other hand, if you got your heart stuck on wood we here can sympathize. Just remember that in your climate you will have to be more aware of outside temp changes.
  9. Shane

    Shane Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,830
    Loc:
    Casper Wyoming
    The Enviro EFIII can do that. Quad 1200I can I believe all Quads can. The Avalon Astoria & Yankee Bay can.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page