Too late for next year?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tmac845

Jan 12, 2013
Hudson Valley, NY
Hey now! I've got a good pile of rounds (mostly cherry, some maple and ash) sitting next to the driveway. I was hoping to have it split and stacked by now, but this darn weather just isn't cooperating. We had another four inches of snow yesterday! Is it too late to use this stuff for next year? Any tips on the fastest conditions for drying? COVERED, or UNCOVERED?

I'm no expert, but this is pretty basic: stack it loosely, off the ground, in a sunny, breezy space, with significant gaps between rows, and top-cover. Cherry, ash and soft maple all have a good shot at being useable for next season. Don't let a little snow deter you from getting out there and splitting.

I'm counting on soft maple that I poached from what the power line crew dropped last month to be ready for next winter. It's less time than I like but I think it'll make it.

Just got a foot of snow yesterday - not helping.

Wood like cherry, soft maple, poplar, basswood, beech, ash and pine can possibly be ready by next winter, but you are gonna have to get on it ASAP once the weather breaks. Oak, hickory, and sugar maple will need a lot more time. Make your splits small to medium (4x4" or so) to help them season faster. Get them stacked in single rows, off the ground in a windy location, and maybe consider top-covering them (top only!!).......