Total Newb..... Need install !!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Drumaz

Jul 23, 2008
NW CT
OK - So I'm totally new at all this. I bought a Jotul F400 and need it installed. Here's my dilemma..... My furnace is on one chimney in the house. There is another chimney on the other end of the house but it doesn't come through the roof. It stops right at the roof line in the attic. I've had a couple masons out to look at it. One guy told me 3K to finish it out through the roof and cap it and I haven't heard from the other. He also told me the chimney did NOT need a liner where as the other said it did. Is there a law in CT about this or anything? I need some advice as to continue along this road or look into a pre-fab. Obviously money is an issue as well. Can I get into a pre-fab for less? That brings me to my next question.. I'm at a shortage of guys to call for FREE estimates. I've only been able to get the two masons out to the house. Anybody have info on people who do prefabs? I'm in Northwest CT. Thanks for your help...

Howdy Drumaz. I came from that area, Cornwall to be exact. I'd be leary about the old chimney, especially if this is an old house. I would certainly have a liner put in if it is old. CAn you post a shot of the attic termination?

Find out who are the best chimneysweeps in your area and get an estimate for a metal chimney. That may allow you to more ideally locate the stove. For best performance, if at all possible, locate the stove centrally and keep the chimney on the interior of the house, going straight up from the stove.