total newb questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

buffalo heat

Jan 1, 2014
buffalo ny
Hi all , im hoping to have a wood boiler in action for next winter. Its an old school cast iron beast , that I will set outside and enclose.

I have about 14 acres of woods in upstate NY. I have no idea about what kinds of trees are here other than some pine that obvious. My questions are what kind of wood can I burn? How to season wood , do different woods take different times? what happens if I dont properly season? Does wood size/ split size matter? Probabaly just the basic newb questions. Sorry if these are stickied , Ive poked around and dint see it. If they are a link would be great , im not lazy , love to read. Thx a bunch!

Oak, hickory, black and honey locust, hedge apple, mulberry will be your hottest burning woods. (not in that order, hedge apple, A.K.A. osage orange is the hottest)

Does wood size/ split size matter?

Can't say in you boiler, but I'm sure you will hear from others in the know.

what happens if I dont properly season

Wood not properly seasoned is harder to start and has a much lower heat output once it begins to burn and causes creosote problems, basically burning green wood is a waste of wood.

do different woods take different times

Oak is, for me, 3 years cut, split and stacked, some say 2 is okay

My questions are what kind of wood can I burn?

I've not used a boiler so I can't say for sure but generally most any wood, properly seasoned will work.

Well said Ralphie Boy.

Welcome to the forum buffalo heat.