Total Newbie Here: Stopping & Restarting Fires in the Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jonross14

Oct 10, 2016
Rockland Co, NY
Hi everyone -- first post here. I recently moved into a home with a wood stove insert (Travis Industries/Lopi Flush Wood Insert). I've never used one before, and I'm really excited to use it as a means to heat my home this season. The previous owner generously left us more than a cord of seasoned wood. I built my first fire tonight and it went great. FYI, the house is also fitted for natural gas heating.

This may sound like a really weird question, but I tried scouring the wikis and forums and couldn't find anything on this topic. My wife and I work long hours and are both out of the house 10-12 hours on weekdays. I was thinking due to our hours that I'd burn only in the evenings (and weekends when we're home) and let the fire burn out overnight. In the mornings when we're rushing, I plan to use the natural gas heating, then restart the fire when I get home from work.

My question is, I've seen so much on people who burn 24/7... is it OK to let the fire die overnight and restart each day? I know we can load it so that it burns all day but I'm a little wary of having a fire unattended and it seems like a waste of wood. Does anyone here do a similar schedule, and are there any suggestions on how to start up the fire again quickly to reduce the risk of creosote buildup?