Total NOOB needs advice before I burn down house...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

squatpuke

Nov 22, 2008
Flagstaff, Arizona
Got our FIRST wood stove last week...cast iron, non-porcelain, Jotul 600. The Big One.

Prior, we laid down extra 18" ceramic on the concrete floor under the stove. As well, on the back wall we added concrete board and more tile about 54" high.

jotul.jpg

We think it looks nice, but I'm the worry-wart of the family and am concerned about the paint and gypsum wall near/behind the pipe...

As well, I'm concerned about the overall temperatures the stove reaches...

We followed the Jotul instructions and gradually increased temps....to break in.

The manual never really says anything about a maximum temperature, and said to place the gauge in the corner...(however, wouldn't the gauge be better off on the top?)

Last night, without much effort at all (maybe 50-60% full of wood), the temperature gauge on the front right of the stove got to 650 degrees....The tile behind was too hot to hold my hand on, and the drywall above the tile was also hot, almost too hot to keep hand on...

We bought the gauge from the dealer and he said this particular model is meant to burn VERY hot (I guess cause of it's large size)....but never gave specifics over the phone. The guage reads "overburn" at around 650...so I'm just curious if we're burning TOO hot.

DO I need to worry about the drywall behind the pipe? (It's 6" away-code according to the noobie installer that put our stove in)

Please help....

Thanks to all...