Tree climbing kits

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I do not cut trees for a living however I have quite a bit of experience with the whole climbing thing, limited experience with tress I will admit. Klein spurs and climbing equipment cannot be beat, but to start the kit you linked seems, o.k., I really suggest you get someone to show you the basics of climbing first as it is not as simple as it looks.

Quick story. A co-worker (tech type) came to see me one day to borrow the spurs and belt to drop a couple tress in his back yard that were too close to the house. I suggested I could do it for him but he declined and wanted to "give it a try" I took him out to a pole, got him up maybe 6-8' and explained how not to kill himself. I told him 15' (typically) is the point of no return. Most peoples fear of heights occurs between 12-15 feet. After that you are either scared or not. He got home and realized that climbing was not for him after about 10 feet. He decided instead to tie off the tree and cut it. I did not give him any advice on that as that was never an option we spoke of. He said when he made the cut the tree rolled and went towards his house. It swung by his roof line and directly into the neighbors roof. The neighbors happened to be in the window watching the whole thing. He brought back he spurs on Monday, told the story and asked if I wanted to help him fix a roof the next weekend. I declined.

Be safe and if you do get them, the pointy things go inwards not pointing out. Yes I have seen it tried the other way. lol.

SKIN052 said: