1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Trouble shooting help with Santa Fe please.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by John Choquette, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,589
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    It should feed exactly the same amount of pellets whether you hit reset or the thermostat starts it since you are resetting the auger timer. The green light tells you that you got to 200 degrees and it tells the auger circuit to start feeding pellets at intervals. If you have a decent flame, it should turn to red indicating that it got to 600 degrees, which shuts off the igniter if its timer hasn't done that already.
    I am stumped! (not much help ) ;em

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. John Choquette

    John Choquette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Well I'm on my 7th winter with this stove and I know for sure the reset always fed more pellets than when the thermostat start fed pellets. Right, wrong or otherwise I know that's what mine has always done, It certainly turns for a good 2 seconds more on reset. Yeah I think we solved it, I emptied the bin and wiggled the auger and it's starting and firing on it's own just fine now. I really don't get why the auger had an issue since I clean it the end and beginning of every season, plus these pellets are really good quality and brand new. But I'll take the simple fix any day!
  3. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,589
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    Glad you got it going. Let's hope that was it..
  4. altmartion

    altmartion Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    391
    Loc:
    pulaski ny
    maybe vacuum. even after I removed the big chunk I put a 1/4 bag in and It still did not work. so I cleaned it well and place a piece of cardboard over the hole so it would make the switch and run all the junk down the chute. I have done something similar on a service call a few years ago..
  5. John Choquette

    John Choquette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Yeah I'm going to burn the half bag I put in last night and take it all apart again and vacuum it, It didn't fire up in the middle of the night last night. But when I manually adjusted the thermostat to start it did. So I'm guessing it needed more pellets in the fire pot. I do think though that the heater core/igniter maybe on it's way out as well, it doesn't get that really really super hot glow. It's more of a dull glow nowadays and I think maybe since it's not getting as hot that could be an issue as well.
  6. altmartion

    altmartion Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    391
    Loc:
    pulaski ny
    can you get a make and part number from the igniter? maybe I have the specs on it to test it.
  7. John Choquette

    John Choquette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    23.3 Heating Element Assembly 18” (Loop Igniter) Pkg of 1 SRV7000-462 Y
    Pkg of 10 SRV7000-462/10

    that's what it lists on the quadra fire santa fe parts site.
  8. SwineFlue

    SwineFlue Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    548
    Loc:
    NE Pa
    That's Quad's part number, same as my Castile... it's a 380 Watt element. You should see 38 Ohms resistance across it. (Measure it with the wires disconnected.)
  9. John Choquette

    John Choquette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    With the igniter wires disconnected or the stove unplugged? I'm not going to lie I haven't used a multimeter in about 20 years. So dumb it down way down for me. I've got the stove unplugged, the igniter wires are exposed due to the fire proof covers just disintegrating when i went to unplug it. My multimeter is set to ohm1k it is not a digital meter & is properly zeroed out *i think* and it's just going straight to zero on the meter. Admittedly I'm flying blind here but this seems incorrect. The igniter does work so I'm obviously doing something wrong with my multimeter please advise...
  10. SwineFlue

    SwineFlue Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    548
    Loc:
    NE Pa
    The value should be only 38 Ohms, so it will appear to be 0 with a 1K setting on an analog meter. Try the lower settings, for resistance it won't hurt the meter.

    edit: you'll probably need the lowest setting...
  11. John Choquette

    John Choquette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    umm what lower settings? DC mA 0.5 and 50? this is a 12 dollar lowes meter.
  12. SwineFlue

    SwineFlue Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    548
    Loc:
    NE Pa
    Oops, I was assuming you had other resistance settings on the meter.

    On a 1K Ohm setting, the '1' on the meter will be 1000 Ohms. You need to be able to see 38. If it has only one Ohm setting, that may be the best you can do. Short the probes together: that's zero. I doubt you would be able to tell the difference between 0 and 38 on that scale.
  13. John Choquette

    John Choquette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Crap then I need to go back to lowe's and get a better one...good grief..
  14. Courtney

    Courtney New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Loc:
    Westminster, MD
    check your feed rate. Reset dumps a lot of pellets in order to fill the hopper - but after that it is not filling. Bring the lever inside the hopper out some and see if that helps. I keep mine about half way out and it is just right (have same model)
  15. John Choquette

    John Choquette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Ok it's reading 30 ohms so I'm guessing the igniter is on it's way out? time to get a new one.


    @Courtney feed rate's been adjusted from half to full open during this painful process lol.
  16. Courtney

    Courtney New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Loc:
    Westminster, MD
    Jeez! What a pain
  17. John Choquette

    John Choquette New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    oh you have no idea
  18. SwineFlue

    SwineFlue Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    548
    Loc:
    NE Pa
    I think the deteriorated insulation on the wire leads would support that decision. Since is isn't completely failed yet, you could keep it as an emergency temporary spare.

Share This Page