Trying to find

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JRA

Feeling the Heat
Nov 24, 2014
north shore ma
Good evening all I am a newbie on the site and was wondering if someone could give me some information in regards to a brush attachment for my drill to clean the burn pot. Cannot find anywhere.

Thanks

To maybe help you out we need some info of your stove. Most stove burn pots can be fine with a scrape or brushing with a simple arm powered wire brush. Needing to attack it with a powered brush may mean a larger more serious problem.

To maybe help you out we need some info of your stove. Most stove burn pots can be fine with a scrape or brushing with a simple arm powered wire brush. Needing to attack it with a powered brush may mean a larger more serious problem.
thank you for the reply. I have a winslow pi40 lennox insert. It's working great just looking for an easier way to clean the burn pot.

For scraping, i use a pry bar that I sharpen a little on the bench grinder. For the burn pot holes, I use a small round file. Personally I would not want a power attachment for this job as I want to know how deep I am so I don't damage the igniter or ream the holes to a larger diameter.

A pry bar works great, mine is 3/4 inches wide which allows me to clean the side as well.

For scraping, i use a pry bar that I sharpen a little on the bench grinder. For the burn pot holes, I use a small round file. Personally I would not want a power attachment for this job as I want to know how deep I am so I don't damage the igniter or ream the holes to a larger diameter.