Ugly rear ends

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BronxBoy

Oct 24, 2014
Bronx NY
Newbie here.

Trying to purchase a multi-fuel (not just corn and pellets) stove ASAP for a 1200 sf semi-attached row-house type of home in New York City. Low-maintenance and quiet are important criteria. I'm happy with utilitarian look but my wife strongly demands furniture-quality appearance.

Was ready to purchase an expensive Mt. Vernon AE which is beautiful from the front. The dealer had his model set up as a fireplace insert. When I peeked into the fireplace to view the back I was surprised! It looks like the rear end of a 1970 portable TV. Fine for a corner or alcove installation but not for a long row-house side wall. I actually called Hearth and Home and the rep claimed that I was the first and only person to raise this objection which I find hard to believe. The beautiful front end is 17.5 inches wide but the ugly rear end is 12 inches--40% of the width. For a high-end stove Quad should have designed a better rear end.

I researched the beautiful Enviro M55 cast stove but it has the same rear end aesthetic problem as the MVAE and the manufacturer does not claim it is multi-fuel.