Underestimated pellet usage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nayslayer

Jul 23, 2011
wallkill,ny
This is my first year with pellet stove and bought 3 tons. I'm nervous that i may have underestimated. Should i buy some extra now, or wait till March. Thanks

I think most folks here would say too much is better than not enough. Around here pellets get difficult to get late in the winter, or get pretty expensive. I'd say if you have the room and the cash, pick up extra. As long as they stay dry they'll be fine until next season if they go unused.

If you have the room to store them and can afford them i would buy now for sure. The price and availability will only get worse.
Just my 2 cents

Mike

Well as you know pellet prices have gone up a bit, generally what is the price/availability say, in March, thanks

Buy now. 3 tons is o.k. for smaller houses in warmer climates. But up North it gets Cold and around here its at least a 4 ton average. Especially if you have burned through a lot of pellets so far.

How many bags burned? And how many sq ft are you heating?

close to 40, about 2200 sq ft. I probably used the stove unnecessarily when i first got it. I'm still trying to figure out what heat mode works better.

Nay, We are in the same area ,I burn 3 1/2 - 4 tons a year.Check home depo the week before xmass they go on sale.
Fellow met fan