Unique situation involving replacing a old wood stove with newer unit

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Old Smokie

Feb 8, 2011
N. Va
I am a newbie so I need major info in what to do.

I have a free standing "cat" stove that was installed and made in '97. When the stove over heated, the chimney caught on fire. SupuFlu installed their pour in place product in the chimney. The chimney is now only 8 inch's in diameter...the same size of my smoke pipe. It has worked great for years. I recently discovered several of my firebrick were cracked, so I replaced them. This is when I discovered that the stove was warped where the the cat is held in place ( I just found this out despite cleaning of the chimney by professionals for years).

So...my questions and comments are:

1#
When I purchase a new stove (air wash system) how am I going to hook a 6 inch smoke pipe to a 8 inch flue? If I use a 6 inch to 8 inch adapter, is my chimney going to be to big to draw the flue gas's properly? If yes, what are my alternatives to ensure that the system works properly?
I base the 6 inch size on what the Mfg's sell today.

What is a good stove that is 100% USA made and can handle 22 inch long logs?

My current stove has 3.4 cu ft firebox. It gave me a 9-11 hr burn time before reloading...It was just perfect until I installed the new Windows and doors (see below). Now It runs me out of the house, even when the temps are in the single digits. How much smaller stove do I need?

I WILL CONSIDER A USED STOVE if the price is right.