1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

UPDATE....Harman PP38 Box fire update

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Joe and Kelly Tomeno, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3,102
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    Center punch the old screw and find a cobalt bit to drill it out. You only get one shot at drilling it out. If you don't get the screw out you may use a self tapping screw to get through the season. Then have to consider removal of pot. Good luck

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    considering the drilling out of the screw..might be the best way...
    the way the screw snapped off isnt flat...its more of a twist off..so I have to use a metal file to file it down some...will purchase a toool to remove screw tomorrow.. Thanks
  3. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3,102
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    Good luck either way. I've never had much luck with so called easy outs. Still need to drill. I have been removing old broken bolts and screws for along time. Portable welder makes the job easier as I could have welded on a nut and the heat would have probably broken the grip.
  4. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY

    Thankyou for the help!! joe t
  5. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    OkNow I am beyond lost...fixed the broken screw on the plate below burn pot...started it up and after 6 minutes of burning the flames begin again in the ash bin..spoke to a stove tech and he thinks the exhaust motor is sucking flames down from the pot..
    the flame in the pot is full..stretches up to the heat transfers....still getting some soot also..
    I am completely lost..
    Circuit board issue/voltage?
  6. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Loc:
    SW MA
    Ok. Just to verify ...the igniter cover plate is now held on tight with two screws and sealing properly? Should be flush against the burn pot with no visible gaps.
  7. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    Correct....
  8. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Loc:
    SW MA
    I an still inclined to think that there is an airflow (leak) issue. If the combustion motor was sucking flames down (too much air flow) I would expect that ash and possibly burning pellets would be expelled from the burn pot. Maybe you are seeing this? The video you posted seemed to indicate a decently active flame. In your observation what is causing the flames in the ash bin? Have you checked that the door and pellet bin seals are good? Is the fines cover seal in good condition? Seated properly and on tight?
  9. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    I chcked the fines cover...I was able to turn the thumb screw 2 turns...I thought they would have done that when cleaning it..
    2nd..I inspected the circuit board..I noticed that the black wire that runs from the blower to the board was not connected properly..I pushed it back onto where it goes...is this a possible problem??
  10. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    did the paper test on the ash bin.....the paper slid out of the top edge curling the paper...the bottom edge (front) either I cant get the paper in correctly or its so loose that the gasket isnt touching cause the paper slid right out....
    I did my best to straighten the bow in the ash bin ( unable to find a replacement at parts store)...
  11. moey

    moey Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    779
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    You can try a lighter it will get sucked in if there is a leak. I find that a bit more definitive then a paper test, but if the paper is pulling out easy you most likely have a leak.

    You might try a thicker gasket rather then trying to bend, problem with bending is it bows out somewhere else maybe introducing a new leak.
  12. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    was gonna use a 3/8" gasket...cant find 1/2"...I do have some 5/8" but that might be too much.
  13. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    Thanks for the advice...I was able to follow your directions...but I had to re tap the hole for the replacement screw...plate fits flush now.
  14. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3,102
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    Well sounds like you got it repaired properly and won't have that problem. Did you apply a antiseize compound to the screws so they will not be a problem when servicing in the future? I use the stuff on anything that may stick or want to remain movable. Door hinge pins are a good one.
  15. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    Well ofcourse(just messing) not..I totally forgot that one..was so excited to get another step completed I dodnt think that far ahead...well atleast next time I have the tools needed to make the repair..
    Thanks for the advice..helping a ton.
  16. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    Tested with the 5/8" gasket...its gonna be too thick....I still have a replacement 3/8" but if there is a small bend then then it wont work...Will take a ride in morning and try to find 1/2" gasket.
  17. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    replaced ash bin gasket with a 1/2" gasket..will see if it works!!
  18. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    OK..I think I finally have this thing fixed...last item to fix was a new gasket on the ash bin..It calls for a 3/8" on the old p38 but 1/2" on the newer models..I replaced with a 1/2" and although it was very tight to close the hinges...it seems to have done the trick..burning good and no more flames being sucked into the ash bin...
    Will post picture and video if possible.

    Thanks for all the help.

    joe t
  19. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY

    And ofcourse that damn flame in the box comes back!!!
  20. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY



    The phantom flame is back in the ash bin
  21. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Seems as if the feed may be to much? Are Burning pellets dropping over the edge?

    To many pellets will result in Smoke and High temps. The smoke and high temps will allow secondary combustion to occur. This is happening when the Hot gas/smoke comes near the glass' air wash.

    That's my "Guess". What settings are you running on? Is that pretty close to Full Bore? Have you tried backing.it off? Setting the burn rate for the 1" ash lip from the end of the pot? (Burning pellets shouldn't drop over the edge).
  22. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY

    The above video is with the stove running on 3 (feed knob)
  23. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    Even with the feed running on 1,2 3,4, 5 or even on turbo...I shouldnt get any of what I am seeing...
    I am taking it to the Harman repair service at the local Harman stove dealer tomorrow...I explain it to them and they are also stumped...if no air leaks then maybe a voltage issue on the circuit board.
  24. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3,102
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    Its acting as you have to much fuel and not enough air. Exaust fan not up to snuff? Did you check with magnahelic to see if you have enough draw?
  25. Joe and Kelly Tomeno

    Joe and Kelly Tomeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    103
    Loc:
    NY
    I dont have one of those...I am probably taking it to a repair (harman dealer)..the tech thinks it may be a circuit board issue restricting power to the exhaust fan....Ibought the exhaust fan new from the harman dealer and had it put on......leaning towards that being the problem...if so its gonna cost..will need an upgrade to a new board..almost 300 more bucks..

Share This Page