Update On The Chusky Chinese Chainsaw

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BrotherBart

Modesterator
Staff member
And today on Days of Our Saws...

Latest update on the Chusky saw. The new clutch, for twelve bucks shipping included, got here quick but I haven't had time to cut much the last week or so. So yesterday I put'er back to work. Three and a half cords under its belt so far. Thirty minutes into whacking white oak rounds the chain broke.

I have been doing this stuff since 1976 and have thrown a lot of chains but this is the first one that just flat broke. Fortunately I was pretty deep in the cut so the round played "chain catcher" instead of my arm or hand.

Reactions: BJ64
Yikes. That was the chinese chain?

I pinched one once and broke it, but it was pinched in place. Got the saw out, but not the chain.

Chain appears to be a Carlton K2. I have always liked Carlton chain. This one, not so much. A rivet sheared.

The adventure continues.

In Australia they sell these Chinese chainsaws legally and I know people that have bought and run them there. Generally the feeling there is that they run them until they break, then the get another one and run that until it breaks, etc. etc. The chain was likely a second quality one, or one built in China (like the new Forester stuff that is all made in China, and now crap). Carlton and Windsor are the same chain now, and I have had really good luck with them. I only use mostly them and Stihl chains, and a few from Oregon.

Me, I will stick with my Stihl saws that I believe are actually worth the money.

Reactions: raybonz