Upgrading old Franklin to Jotul Oslo - Many Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

senorFrog

Aug 31, 2006
Hi,

I have been lurking here for sometime and just registered the other day. After quite a bit of research here, I ordered a Joutl Oslo a few days ago. It will replace an existing old Franklin style woodstove. I am replacing the stove to help with the oil bill this year.

Some History: The existing stove came with the house and I have been using it for three years now. Last year, based on chimmney sweeps recommendation for safety, I had the single wall stove pipe converted to double wall and a short stainless steel chimmney pipe installed to connect to masonry chimmney. I was not happy with the installer but that is another story.

Here is a description w/dimensions for use with pics...

The wood stove connects to 48 inch vertical run of 8 inch double wall stove pipe (supervent I think), which connects to a 90 degree elbow, which connects to 34 inch horizontal run of double wall stove pipe which connects to stove pipe adaptor. Stove pipe adaptor connects to another 20 inch horizontal run of stainless steel insulated chimmney pipe (supervent) model SC/SPR type HT. This is two inch clearance. Also, it is threaded, so the stove pipe adaptor "screws" into it. The chimmney pipe connects to the masonry chimmney which is lined with 8 x 8 inch clay liner. It has been cleaned, inspected and in good condition.

As mentioned I have ordered a Jotul Oslo. Here are my questions: