1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
  1. nrcrash

    nrcrash Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Loc:
    MA
    I am going to be installing a ups back up for my new vigas boiler, but can someone explain to me why I need one? Is it only to get rid of the heat that is in the boiler at the time the power goes out to prevent damage from occuring? Since the fan isn't running any more and drawing the gasses out of the boiler does it have to run until that burn is completed?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Donl

    Donl Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Loc:
    Ontario
    When you loose power your boiler automatically enters the idle state. However, with no power the pump cannot run which is required to remove the residual heat that the boiler holds. Without the ability to disperse this heat the boiler is likely to over heat. It is not nessessary to keep the boiler running for a long time. Just long enough to remove the residual heat.

    I don't use power backup. Instead I have a 50 gallon tank that will thermo siphon in the event of a power fail. It will pull off between 40 - 50 kbtus which is enough to cool the boiler adequately. I have tested this and it does the job.
  3. Jesse-M

    Jesse-M Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Loc:
    Columbia City, IN
    Is this in a pressurized system?
  4. Donl

    Donl Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Loc:
    Ontario
    Yes
  5. Jesse-M

    Jesse-M Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Loc:
    Columbia City, IN
    Interested in doing the same but not sure how to plumb it into a pressurized system.
    Any pics of your setup?
  6. Donl

    Donl Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Loc:
    Ontario
    I just plumbed in a parallel loop to the boiler containing the 50 gallon tank (reclaimed electric dhw tank). This loop has no other restrictions other than a normally open zone valve. During a power fail the zone valve will open and the loop will thermal syphon.
  7. stee6043

    stee6043 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,430
    Loc:
    West Michigan
    To pull 50k btu with 50 gallons of water you'd be raising the temp by roughly 120 degrees.

    How have you tested it? Full burn, full temp? Seems like you'd be riding the edge of overheat with only 50 gallons. But if it works, it works.
  8. Donl

    Donl Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Loc:
    Ontario

    I brought the boiler up to top operating temperature, then shut off the power. The EKO manual suggested this method and indicated that a 40 gallon reservoir was sufficient to keep the temperature under control. I am confident that this works because over the past 4 years I have experienced several power outages and my pressure relief has never activated because of an overheat condition. The 50 gallon tank has increased it's temp by 120 degrees though.

Share This Page