Upsizing Wood Stove HT-2000 or Timber Ridge?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Reimer

Jan 5, 2009
Ottawa Can.
Hi. I've been using a cast iron Waterford Trinity for about 10 years for whole house heating, has a convenient side loading door, find its efficient and great in the fall and spring but output marginal during the coldest 2 months when goes well below -5C and end up filling it every few hours. I used to have a much larger Findlay Chatelaine in the 1980's which worked well here in all seasons but not safe or clean burning by today's standards.

Am looking at a larger stove, like the Drolet HT-2000, or Timber Ridge 50-TNC30T which run about $1500 locally. These seem to be also called SBI- Enerzone Solution 3.4, England Summersheat in US etc. Trinity firebox measures about 2.1 cu.ft., others are about 3.4 depending on usable volume? Specs ...vary in many ways, technology seems similar to my 1995 Trinity.

Was wondering if any suggestions/experience with these or similar models in terms of sizing; e.g. can I safely run a bigger one like the above at lower ouput in the spring and fall to cover the whole heating season? If changing stoves from undersize I don't want to then oversize. Some reviews say the HT-2000 is hard to modulate?

Also the Trinity uses outside air inlet, helps to reduce drafts, seems not that common feature now?