URL with closing parens )

Post in 'New Forum Hints and your Questions & Suggestions!' started by LLigetfa, Mar 24, 2012.

  1. LLigetfa

    LLigetfa
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,361
    Likes Received:
    110
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Admin

    Admin
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Loc:
    Somewhere
    Works fine for me when I paste that URL.

    If you copied the URL from another web page that had it linked incorrectly then that would explain it. The rich editor preserves formatting including hyperlinks. If you click the little Screen shot 2012-03-25 at 12.40.36 AM.png image in the editor then you will have more control over the formatting.
     
  3. LLigetfa

    LLigetfa
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,361
    Likes Received:
    110
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    Nope. Plain text copied from the address bar in IE8. I also pasted from my clipboard inside code tags.

    Switching off the Rich Text editor did allow me to fix the URL.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. webbie

    webbie
    Expand Collapse
    Seasoned Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,187
    Likes Received:
    1,085
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    If in doubt, it probably works to select some words and anchor the hyperlink to it......

    We had some problems in the old forum with space characters, etc... not working right in pasted URLs. Can't win 'em all - gotta win most of them, though!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information