US Stove 6041 tp

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

syl153

Dec 5, 2015
pittsoro in
I just cleaned my stove. I don't think the flame is burning like it should. It is set on PR 3. I have the pellet rate set at 2.40 for the low setting. It is putting out heat, but I think it should be getting warmer in the room (the whole house for that matter 800 sf). I have posted a couple of pics in the gallery (US Stove 6041 Flame 1 & US Stove 6041 Flame 2) of it and any suggestions would be appreciated. This is my first time using a pellet stove and this one was given to me after 1 season of use. My intake is using room air and if I put my hand over it should I feel suction? I am using premium hardwood pellets.

Last edited:
My intake is using room air and if I put my hand over it should I feel suction?

No you will not feel suction. You might wet the back of your hand, put it by the draft slide and feel draft. Best bet is to take a cigarette and put it by the draft and see if the smoke is getting sucked in.

Outside air kit is only required in mobile homes and in newer construction where the house is tightly insulated. That's such a subjective recommendation that it's almost useless. My house, built in 1955 is drafty, I have the OAK after burning the first year without it. While not absolutely needed to use the stove I would suggest to anyone to install it. Much more automated control of the stove. I don't even use the manual draft except when starting the stove and that's for only about 20 minutes and then it is shut completely, I even have the screw stop removed so that it closes 100%.