US Stoves 5510 King Pellet Stove - odd problem

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jhilyer

Jan 10, 2014
NW PA
Hello, I wonder if anyone can help me here.
I'm a newbie to pellet stoves. Bought an older used US Stoves King 5510 this fall, been using it since November, and for the first month or so, no problems.

But now, an odd problem has popped up. When re-lighting, (manually, igniter is bad), the feed will do its usual running for about 8-10 minutes. Pellets drop in. Big flame. Then the flame starts to die down, and it will *not feed* for just long enough for the fire to die. Almost like it 'pauses'. Then it starts feeding again, but too late to help the fire, and it goes out. I've watched it do this 6 or 8 times.

My work around is that when this happens, I take a small handful of pellets, open the door and quickly throw them into the burn pot to keep it going - usually have to do it twice, then the feed starts again and everything's fine. It will run all day then. I'd say the feed stops for approx. 3-4 minutes.

What's going on here? Do I have a fuel rate/blower speed problem? I've tried different things there, to no avail. And it's not the hopper door switch, because I disabled that when this first happened - thought the switch might be bad. Nope. If I was having a non-seal problem, the combustion blower would stop blowing too, right? Maybe this is the stove's normal "reaction" to some condition I am not correcting for? The manual is no help here.

Thanks!