Utility Bicycling

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Fifi

Sep 15, 2011
Near Heathrow UK
Anyone else into trying to save on petrol/deisel cut down their carbon footprint by cycling to work/shops?

I confess I don't do as much as I could. I work as a temp and one of my regular jobs is only about a mile from home which is great so I cycle to work there.

I also live about a mile from town so apart from my big supermarket shop I like to use my bike for trips to shops/doctor/dentist etc. I often end up with my bike overloaded on these trips so am looking into getting a bike shopping trailer. I think I've sourced one that will fit my bike and doesn't cost the earth. Would appreciate input if anyone had tried a trailer.

The best thing about the bike is the easy parking and not having to worry about a parking meter ticking away.

Fifi

Try a large basket on the bike with a backpack for you. Much more flexible and convenient. Parking is going to be a problem for a trailer at most bike racks, etc. Bike parking like car parking is designed with some thought. Trailers in either case are not typically in the design standards. Of course your local circumstances would dictate.

Millions of people in Japan commute and shop with bikes. If you are going to operate in the winter, get some of those cool handlebar mittens they use in Japan. I used a bike nine miles to work for two/three years. Mainly for stress relief and cardio. Fortunately, I had a good safe route, mostly free of cars. And facilities at work to keep clothes and shower.