VC Defiant Encore-w/cat...worth $1,000?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

LMBN

Aug 25, 2008
SE PA
Hello--I am fairly new to the whole woodstove thing so I thought I'd toss this out there to all of you experts.

Would you pay $1000. for a VC Defiant Encore that is approx. 13 years old.
Its beautiful to look at, brown enamel without a scratch. My husband and I are torn--pay 1k for a used stove OR 2,500 for a new one?
Thinking Jotul Oslo or Quadrafire Isle Royal.
ANY and ALL thoughts would be appreciated. I need to make a decision soon so i can place an order if I need to.

How often was the Defiant used? Does the inside look good? Anything warped? How old is the catalyst? If it was seldom used then it may be worth it. $1000 is alot for a 13 year old stove unless it was in tip top shape.

Thanks for your reply...
According to the owner the catalyst was replaced last year. It is from a classified ad and we have only seen pictures.
It is located a few hours from our home, we haven't actually '"seen" it in person.
It is a lot of money and I can't decide what to do. We have to buy something though. 2,500 for new may be a safer bet.
Need more input :)

People are selling used stoves like hot-cakes and getting big, big $ for them. Supply and demand for stoves and wood have been building up since early May and at this point in the game…its like the Zeppelin #129 ready to explode…. anything goes…..

Go look at the stove and check the following….wheel and deal from there with cash in hand
13 years old you say? You can do better (unless it was never used)