VC Encore 2040 - how to burn?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

newburn

Oct 17, 2016
Pennsylvania
I recently had a new Encore stove installed. This is my first time operating and using a wood stove.

I have burned it about 5-6 times now and have quite a few questions as to the most efficient way to burn this stove.

First, how exactly am I to utilize the catalyst temperature probe that comes from the factory with this stove? It has a large white section that I assume tells me when to close the bypass damper because it reads "operate catalyst," however it only seems to move after I close the bypass damper. Also, when it does finally reach the white section on the probe, if I start messing with the secondary air control it drops back down, which leads me to believe the catalyst is not working at that point?

Secondly, what would a standard procedure look like from start of the fire to reload in the morning for an overnight burn? I have been able to get a small amount of coals one morning, but nothing I could simply reload large logs with. I still had to use kindling to get it going and from what I have read this stove should be able to obtain 10 hour burns.

Hi Newburn,
Welcome to the forum. I just replied over in the 2015/2016 VC thread, but I will try and answer your questions here as well.