VC encore cat burn times

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

-PB-

Feb 28, 2010
MD via Philly
Hello all,
Looking for some input... I have been burning my VC encore cat for 3 years now. I'm sure the owners manual is a little fudged when they claim a 12 hour burn time but I am curious to see what other burn times VC encore cat owners are getting. I have NEVER gotten more that 9 hours on an overnight burn and have tried everything. I have about 25 ft of stainless steel chimney liner in my exterior chimney. The stove sits in the fireplace. I never have a draft issue... I do have to be careful she doesn't run away on me. I check the gaskets every year and burn only seasoned white oak, hickory and locust, MC below 20%. When I rake the coals, load up with big thick "overnight" splits, engage the cat at 500 and shut the air down all the way she will give me 9 hours on a good night, the average is more like 8... I'm talking usable coals in the morning. I dont think I have an air leak issue because I burn dry wood and the stove top never gets over 625 with the air closed all the way... if I open the air, look out. I went to my local stove shop and they said that was about average. What are you guys and gals getting and is there anything I can do different?
Thanks all.

I'm only on my second year with the encore so you have more experience than me, but it sounds like the results you are getting are not far off. My first winter after I got the hang of it I could load up at 9:30pm and still have enough coals to relight at 7am. Maybe even 8 but I would need some kindling (no match).