1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

VC Radiance Problem

Post in 'It's a Gas!' started by petersensfunnyfarm, Feb 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. petersensfunnyfarm

    petersensfunnyfarm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Rocky Mountains, CO
    Recently our VC Radiance stove has not been switching on automatically as it should - it is programmed to come on at 60, and the display on the remote control will read that the room is at (for example) 55, but it isn't turning on. Has anyone else experienced this issue and if so, how was it remedied? Is it an internal sensor of some sort that needs to be replaced? The stove is 4+ years old.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,319
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Could be the batteries in the remote - either in the sending unit or the receiver - OR BOTH...
    Could be a weakening thermopile...
    Could be a loose wiring connection...
    Get a millivolt tester & test the batteries...
    Jiggle some of the wires to see if something is loose...
    Use the same meter to take a reading on the TP & TP-TH terminals
    & report what you've found there...
  3. petersensfunnyfarm

    petersensfunnyfarm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Rocky Mountains, CO
    DAKSY, thanks for the response. We checked the batteries in the remote and now will try your other suggestions and let you know.

    Thanks!
  4. Wood Heat Stoves

    Wood Heat Stoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,901
    Loc:
    Nevada City, California
  5. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,319
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Hey, Dave...
    It's been a while since I did any work on a VC Radiance,
    but didn't they come with a Honeywell Valve?
    I know I'm old & the memory is the 2nd thing to go...
  6. petersensfunnyfarm

    petersensfunnyfarm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Rocky Mountains, CO
    Got to poking around under it last night - one of the wires has come unconnected, my guess is from our not-so-svelte cat that likes to sleep underneath. Not sure where it needs to be reconnected to - will the guide display wiring?
  7. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,319
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    There should be a wiring schematic in the owner's manual.
    Is your pilot lit? Are there wires on the gas valve terminal
    block at the TH & TH/TP terminals?
  8. Wood Heat Stoves

    Wood Heat Stoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,901
    Loc:
    Nevada City, California
    nope, but, they might have switched to one, its been a while for me too, and we aren't vc dealers...

    44a. Valve Nova SIT820.662 RN (Serial #’s starting with 2513) 20010563
    44b. Valve Nova SIT820.653 RP (Serial #’s starting with 2513) 20010645

    this is from the manuals i have on file, for models 3233 thru 3236 and 3340 thru 3349, 3355 and 3356

    OP> what model of radiance??
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page