VC vs Jotul insert need help picking out best stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Diane

May 29, 2008
Boston, MA area
Hi Everyone,

I'm pretty new to all of this and I would really appreciate your input! I have oil heat, and am dreading what this winter has in store. I would like to buy a stove of some sort... wood, winter warmer or pellet stove to provide most of my heat during the winter. Many years ago, I heated my home with an old (narrow) Jotul stove in the basement and a Vermont Castings winter warmer on the main floor. It was great, my home was warm, and I could take care of it myself.

My present home, as I mentioned, is heated with oil. I live just outside of Boston, MA in a colonial built in 1923. Sadly, not an open floor plan and no room for a stove in the basement. The dimensions in my living room fireplace are 42" wide, 28.5" high, 15" deep at the upper aspect of the firebox and 19.5" deep at the lower aspect of the firebox.

I thought I could put another Vermont Castings Winter Warm in the LR fireplace, but after some research, I'm leary of VC. Then I thought perhaps a traditional wood stove would be best. I've heard mixed reviews on the pellets, so I don't know what to do with that one.

The living space is 2400 sf with 2 floors (the LR fireplace is on the first floor).

With all your knowledge and experience, what would be your suggestions for a single female in the above described home?

Thank you and I truly do appreciate your guidance!

Have you looked at the Jotul inserts? It sounds like a C450 would fit in fine.