1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
  1. David Hall

    David Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Adirondacks near Lake George
    I had a lopie pellet stove that had a adaptor for 6" stove pipe into the outside chimney and it worked fine. I now have a American Harvest 6039 and US Stove who makes it says I have to us 3" or 4" pellet vent only I can not use the adaptor and 6" pipe. What do you think?;?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. smoke show

    smoke show Guest

    meh, do it. does it need to pass inspection?
    Defiant likes this.
  3. David Hall

    David Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Adirondacks near Lake George
    No it dose not.
  4. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,374
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    Well, there ya go, then..........
  5. Defiant

    Defiant Vermont Castings Geek

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,109
    Loc:
    Old Lyme CT
    I guess he told you:cool:
    smoke show likes this.
  6. David Hall

    David Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Adirondacks near Lake George
    Passing a inspection is not The problem. The issue is will the stove operate the way it should if I vent it into a 6" chimney? Manufacture US Stove says no it will not has to be vented into 3" or 4" pellet vent only to operate correctly. This is the question I would like to know the answer to. Thanks;?
  7. Ejectr

    Ejectr Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    565
    Loc:
    Brimfield, MA
    I have an Enviro with 4" vent going to an 8" to 4" reducer and then venting to an 8" stainless chimney. No issues.
  8. rona

    rona Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Loc:
    southwestern Minn
    It will run fine. Think of it for a minute people run a 3 inch 2 feet long before it is outside the wall. You are going from a 3 inch into a 6 inch chimney . I know at least 5 people around me that go direct into their chimneys and have been doing it for 5 to 8 years with no problem.
  9. David Hall

    David Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Adirondacks near Lake George
    I thought at some point you go bigger in dia. I'm going to call US Stove again tomorrow and ask the question again, the only thing I could come up with was having to maintain internal pressure in the stove and the small vent pipe helped do that. Thank you Dave
  10. David Hall

    David Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Adirondacks near Lake George
    This stove is a American Harvest made by US Stove. They insist the only way the stove will operate properly is with 3 or 4 in. pellet vent the stove is a model 6039 Thank you Dave
  11. rona

    rona Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Loc:
    southwestern Minn
    Before you spend big bucks with new pipe inside the chimney I would try it the cheap way and see for yourself. The only problem I could see is if you only use the stove certain times of the day you could have a problem with cold chimney not drawing - But as soon as it warms up it will be fine. Anyone that has burned wood knows what I am talking about. As I said I have friends plus myself that have been doing this for 8 years with no problem. A 6039 has been out for quite a while and is a good stove. What price are they quoting you for labor and pipe , endcap etc.
  12. David Hall

    David Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Adirondacks near Lake George
    I already have the pipe and will do the work myself. US Stove told me the pellet vent was nessecary to maintain a pressure vacume in the stove . The stove will operate with out the pellet vent but not as well as it should. you need to have a minium 4' vertical after you go through the wall and out side. I vented my lopi into an 6" stove pipe by way of an adaptor and it work fine, not this stove it don't like it, I'll be in touch after I do it. Stay in touch please and thank you Dave
  13. rona

    rona Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Loc:
    southwestern Minn
    The big reason for the vertical whether or not it is inside or outside is to creat a draft so if the stove is shut off the smoke will continue to be sucked out of the stove versus leaking out of the stove via hopper or door leaks.
    Wood pellets will continue to smolder and creat smoke if the power goes off and thats the reason for having a vertical but you will have the same effect by plumbing it into the chimney. Are you going to use outside air with this stove?
  14. David Hall

    David Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    Adirondacks near Lake George
    I don't think so. Old house not that air tight, so so. Why do you ask? I ran the lopi with no outside air.

Share This Page