Venting/window clearance ? for 55-SHPEP pellet stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SandInMaheye

Nov 25, 2010
Central NY
I have my 55-SHPEP pellet stove direct vented from my living room to the outside. i have a 45 degree elbow as the stove sits in the corner. When a friend of mine installed it, i kept saying it needs to have a verticle rise on the outside wall and he insisted that it did not need to (manual states it does, at least 3ft). The manual never shows it done this way, either. I dont have any problems with black soot or anything on the house, but my question is this..

Does this set up effect the performance of the stove? I have noticed hot air being blown outside. Is this normal? I have the cold air intake on an opposite wall as the exhaust pipe.
I just feel that my house should be warmer than it was this past winter. The heat never really left much further than the living room. some heat made it upstairs, as heat rises. my house is fairly open and I do admit that I have drafts coming in from doors, which may also be part of the keeping house warm issue.

is the only reason why people are against direct venting is because of soot/ash getting on the house?

2nd question.. do you know what the window clearance should be with this stove? I could have sworn I read it in the manual before installation but now I can not find it. maybe i am looking to hard and over looking it.