Vermont Castings stove lost "suction"

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FishVet

Dec 9, 2007
Central NY
I bought a house this summer that came with a small VC "Aspen" wood stove and a lot of wood. I've been using the stove regularly for about 2 months and it has generally been working OK. When I first started making fires in it, I had trouble keeping things going. Then I realized that the wood that came with the house isn't great for stoves, it produces a lot of smoke when burning and suffocates itself. Not a problem once there is a good ember bed, though. So I've been leaving the door cracked for better airflow when getting things started, but once a good ember bed develops, the fire keeps going strong when I add more wood, even with the door shut. Since yesterday, however, this hasn't been the case. Usually when I close the door I can see flames leaping up from below, where I assume the air is coming in. Now, however, I see nothing when I close the door and the fire smolders out. When I look at the chimney outside, there is a lot of smoke coming out that "falls" as soon as it exits the chimney. Any ideas on what has gone wrong? Something that is fixable I hope? Thanks for your time and expertise. :)