Vogelzang All cast iron box wood stove. Worth it?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

saladdin

Feeling the Heat
Dec 29, 2011
West Tennessee
I can buy this for $125, new (place going out of business) but I have no idea if it's worth it. This is my first year of burning pellets and looking for a second stove that is pure wood (not needing electricity). House is 1400 sqt feet with chimney that is not being used.

This would be backup or for a shop later on.

Anyone familiar with this guy?

http://www.vogelzang.com/browse.cfm/standard-boxwood-stove/4,13.html

Most members on here will tell you to take that stove directly to the scrap yard. (And, they actually DO have a point there)

If you're trolling, I apologize for feeding you. Just sayin'.......

Here let me sum it up for you......No :)

Run away, Run away, Run away and save your life. Sorry, Real McCoys never left my brain. That thing is in constant overfire. Clearances are 36" but 36 feet would be more safe. I bought one for $89 once at Harbor Freight. After unpacking, I said no way am I gonna fire this in a structure I care about.

Thanks guys. That was quick and helpful. I should have done a better job searching, my apologizes.