Wall Thimble leaking smoke, Duravent Pellet Vent.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Merrimack_Pellet

Nov 26, 2020
Merrimack New Hampshire
We just bought a huge house in New Hampshire , hard to heat of course. It came with a fairly new looking Santa Fe Quadrafire.
It has a Duravent PelletVent on the wall. This is a telescoping wall thimble, the inner and outer pieces slide together and allow a wide range of wall thickness. My walls seem pretty standard.

It leaks smoke from inside the wall, obviously coming from Somewhere inside the wall thimble. Any thoughts? I am new to this.
Here is a link to the wall tmhible instillation guide for my model.

Last edited by a moderator:
Sounds like when the install was done who ever done it has a pipe joint in the thimble, You will need to take the vent system apart and see if this is the case and if so get a proper length of venting to eliminate the joint in the thimble.

Good morning & welcome to Hearth.com.
First, I changed the spelling in your post from
"tremble" to "thimble."
If you have a leak IN the thimble, you must have a
pellet vent joint in there. The only way to see, is
to pull the venting out. You will probably have to
cut through some silicone on the outside in order
to move the vent. You may have to move the stove,
away from the wall, as well, if you can't unlock the sections.
Once you pull the venting through, may sure the connection
is tight & wrap it in some aluminum tape to seal it.
Before you push it back in & re-silicone the outside, fire it up
& make sure the joint is sealed.

Reactions: SidecarFlip