Water around the bottom of the endeavor this am after heavy rain and wind last night???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

puller738

Hearth Supporter
Nov 21, 2009
IL
This is my first year of burning wood. I had a lopi endeavor installed last spring and so far I have used it about 10 times and I love it. Yesterday I decided to test out my new sooteater on the chimeny. The thing worked great for bottom up cleaning. I also took my chimney cap off and inspected the chimney. I noticed a little black glazed creosote which extended about a foot down the chimney. My plan is to burn some creosote logs over the next few burns and clean it again. Any advice here would be greatly appreciated!

Also, this morning i noticed water at the bottom of the stove and I immediately thought that the cap came off last night in the strong winds. Not the case, the cap is on however I did leave my flue control open last night and the winds were gusting to 50mph with heavy rain. Please tell me that I'm bound to have a little water in and around the stove in this case. thanks!!!!!

50 mph and a heavy rain would put some water down the chimney, just the amount that's down there is what depends. Cutting your damper wouldn't have mattered since they're not tight and the water would just deposit a bit more on the damper than at the bottom of the stove. I'm hoping we're talking a few drops/small pool , not cups and cups.