Water control systems

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

petawawarace

Aug 24, 2012
Hey guys, I am looking at a propane/wood boiler system and I would like to know what type of electronics you guys use for controlling which loops get heated when. I have some knowledge of PLC systems but I don't want to have to start from scratch.

I have a basic idea of what I need, and I will draw it out shortly, but I want to have the propane boiler and the wood boiler/storage tanks work in parallel with each other. Meaning they both will heat both the house and a detached garage. The tricky part will be that the propane boiler will be in the house, and the wood boiler will be in the garage ~ 100 ft away.

PS I am not talking about the Lambda style controllers for the boilers themselves, more for control of the radiant heat system.

Thanks,
Jeff

I have a longwood propane and wood combination it is forced air I want to put copper coils in hot air chamber to hheat water before going to 80 gal elect HWH cause it was expensive last winter using just elect

You mean with aquastats? Or pipeing diagrams? If you mean the electrical side of things most use off the shelf aquastats, zone valves, and circulators. Can you be more specific?

TS