Water Treatment for Tarm Solo Innova 30?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wood-engineer

Nov 16, 2009
North West Michigan
I've been running a Tarm Solo Innova 30 for the last six months. I am extremely pleased with this unit, the only expectation it has left to fulfill is a 30 year life. On that note, should I be running an additive in the water? It is a closed system, it just runs to the storage tank coils and back. All copper & brass. The manual doesn't mention anything about this topic.

I have well water. It's pretty soft as is, but it also runs thru a softener.

Any thoughts? Thanks for your time. P.S. Some of you characters (and I mean that in a good way) really know you stuff. Wish I'd found this site earlier...