wet wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

micaaronfl

Dec 5, 2010
pennsylvania
hi all,

i am new to fireplaces and recently had a merrimack installed, i also brought a cord of wood the other day and the day before we had a snowstorm. well the wood when it was dumped came complete with snow. Seems that the wood is a little wet on the surface. It is now racked and covered in a tarp in the back yard. question, how long should this sit to dry again? seems that it is tough to burn and damn smokey.

Thanks

ugh dont tell me that. the guys who installled the merrimack actually had to come back out and fix the power cord. anyway they looked at the wood and said it looked good and light. its a hardwood mix, mostly oak. the snow came a week ago and so alot of it was melted and the outer bark is damp on most of the peices. figure this was just a matter of a few dry days outside - im hoping....

You might just have surface dampness or some moisture under the bark. If you have some days of good sun/wind, take the tarp off and let the stack dry a bit. As long as the moisture is surface, you have no need to worry. But...take a good load in the house and let it dry next to the stove for a day or two. If you get bad smoke after that, your wood is likely unseasoned - I hope that is not the case. Cheers!

I know it a bother to fiddle with but you may want to consider leaving it uncovered when favorable weather can dry it faster.