What’s with the threads on the sweep rods?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jerry_NJ

Minister of Fire
Apr 19, 2008
New Jersey USA
I have seven 4' long sweep rods and a 6" poly round brush to clean my 6" stainless steel chimney... which is about 30' long. No, I have not yet had my first fire of the season, and yes, this is my first attempt to sweep my own (new, only one season's use) chimney.

Question: are the connecting threads between the rods and to the brush a force-type thread, e.g., pipe thread, which I understand is slightly out of match to get a tighter water(gas) proof union? I have tested several rods to the brush and several rods to another rod and in each case I fine I can get about one turn before my hand starts to slip, can no longer turn/tighten. The threaded section looks to have about 8+ threads, so it is just barely started. I can tighten another turn with the use of pliers.

Question: the "bristles" on the poly brush are really course, must be about 1/16th of an inch in diameter, and very stiff. Sound right?

Thanks

The threads on my rods are not tapered like pipe threads and they have the same relative resistance until they bottom out. It sounds like maybe a quality control issue with your rods. Maybe there is a plating that was applied after the threads were formed. A thread file is a good friend to have.

file1.jpg

That sounds odd. I can tighten my 3' rods together all the way down the thread by hand alone. The brush would require the use of a tool to fully secure, but I can easily get it halfway down the threads by hand alone.