What do you guys think about Mulberry?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Naandme

Jan 16, 2011
Eaton, Indiana
I have been cutting a fence row for a farmer now for a couple years, (actually several rows) I have burnt mulberry and find it to be a decent wood but its a pain like osage real brushy and not as good as osage. So alot of times I bypass it for the hickory, oak, osage or locust but after looking down the row I am cutting on now there is anbundance of mulberrys. What is you guys opinon of mulberry as a whole comparied to the other hard woods.

It's fruit makes a nice wine!! (and Preserves)

-Soupy1957

Its good wood, high on the btu charts (in the oak range) I do think if green it takes a while to season.

Excellent fuel,one of the best.About the same density as Red/Black Oak,not quite as much as White/Bur Oak.Can get to very large size if allowed to grow in open areas,woodland edges & away from fencerows.Can be tough to split sometimes,especially in its normal crooked,knotty/gnarly state.If you find large straight pieces,thats pretty uncommon.Has other uses also...

Attachments

• mulberry41707 005.jpg
    mulberry41707 005.jpg
    91.7 KB · Views: 348
  • mulberrybox,vase&paperweight.jpg
    mulberrybox,vase&paperweight.jpg
    37.8 KB · Views: 327
Naandme You find one in a yard they get Big real big. Fence line cutting can be a pain.