What have I got here....

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sledhead00

Oct 28, 2012
WNY
Ive got a few days off from work so I figured Id nit pick around on CL and stock up on wood for next yr..I just picked some of this stuff up, it was suppose to be a mix of black walnut and red maple but once I got there told me he thinks it's silver maple... It's doesn;t look like it to me but Im not very good at identifying wood so...
The first pic doesn't show it well, but inside the bark is red/pinkish..

Attachments

• leroy1.jpg
    leroy1.jpg
    175.5 KB · Views: 282
  • leroy.jpg
    leroy.jpg
    242.9 KB · Views: 287
I'm terrible at distinguishing hard/soft maple but that does look like Red to me. We're there any leaves? I always try to grab some if I'm not sure on the tree.

Reactions: Pennsyltucky Chris
I'd say that's rock oak, but..... not 100% sure

I'm terrible at distinguishing hard/soft maple but that does look like Red to me. We're there any leaves? I always try to grab some if I'm not sure on the tree.

No, no leaves it sounded like he did all the trim work off site and just brought rounds back to split...Its got some decent weight to it, but it is wet. I tested about 10 pieces and nothing was under 24 and one at 33. Very inconsistent size pieces thought...

I can get more specific pics tmw if it'll help..

Soft (Red or Silver) Maple

HI OOO SILVER away

Looks a heckuva lot like the silver maple splits I cut up into kindling 20 minutes ago.

Looks a heckuva lot like the silver maple splits I cut up into kindling 20 minutes ago.