What have we gotten ourselves into (remodel)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

joshtp

Oct 31, 2015
Northern Virginia, USA
Hi, I'm new to Hearth.com, but have read many threads on here. The first half of this post talks of the surround and hearth, but I'll also be asking about putting in a fireplace insert.

We've been living in our new 1975 house for about 6 months now, and my wife and I couldn't stand the look of our fireplace:

fireplace_old.jpg

We were pretty sure there was brick under the tile and plywood, so we decided to just tear it off, just a few hours ago, thinking that the brick is probably in pretty good shape and we could undo the horrible damage the previous owners had done by covering up perfectly good brick:

fireplace_demo.jpg

The plywood above the mantel came off great with just a little adhesive remaining, but after spending 5 minutes to get one tile off, and not having much luck getting the thinset off, our hopes were dashed. We can't easily recover the bricks, at least from the lower half.

So I think I have a plan, and wanted to get your take on it.

1. Leave tile in place, scuffing it up with a belt sander, and adding AirStone or another stone veneer on top of the tile on the wall, and on top of the brick along the edge of the hearth.
  2. Put some kind of stone-like material on top of the hearth tile, or perhaps even another type of tile. Suggestions are eagerly welcomed here.
  3. Reuse and paint the old mantel white. Perhaps cover the top bricks with plywood painted white; this part is one where I'm not sure exactly what I want to do.